Chester Copperpot

The other day while washing the dishes I noticed that the Teflon lining inside our 1 and 2 quart saucepans was all over the sponge. I’m no scientist or doctor but I’m betting that Teflon coming off in our food isn’t healthy either. I immediately threw away the pots and began a quest for replacements. I checked Target, Walmart, and even Amazon but nothing was to my liking and within our small budget. I like to stir with a fork sometimes so I wanted a stainless interior so that this problem didn’t happen again. I remembered the pots my Mom has which had the copper bottom. After doing some Google research I determined that I was looking for Revere Ware saucepans, but not the newer ones.  Like everything else in this world, they don’t make em like they used to. Newer versions of this product are dipped in copper and don’t have the true copper bottom. I needed to find a vintage set. Off to Ebay I went. Much to my surprise, Revere Ware isn’t cheap. After unsuccessfuly trying for a 3 piece set this morning in which I was outbid at the last second, I was fortunate enough to win an even better looking and less expensive set this afternoon. The picture is above. I got 1, 1 1/2, and 3 quart saucepans with lids for a total of $37. According to their website a new version of those 3 would run me $73 before tax and shipping. Score!

Leave a Reply

